SSCA Award Committees

To nominate someone for an SSCA Award, submit the required materials (see the SSCA Award Guidelines) so they are received by all members of the appropriate committee by December 5th.  Electronic submission is preferred, and current email addresses are provided below.

Dwight L. Freshley Outstanding New Teacher Award

Chair: Melody Lehn, Sewanee: The University of the South

Member: Aubrey Huber, University of South Florida

Member: Caroline Sawyer, University of the South Carolina Beaufort

The John I. Sisco Excellence in Teaching Award 

Chair: Sean Patrick O'Rourke, Sewanee: The University of the South

Member: Beth Crandell Goodier, College of Charleston

Member: Todd Lee Goen, Christopher Newport University

Janice Hocker Rushing Early Career Research Award

Chair: Amanda Nell Edgar, University of Memphis



Member: Lindsey Aloia, University of Arkansas

Outreach Award

Chair: Andre JohnsonUniversity of Memphis 

Member: Holley Vaughn, University of North Texas

Member: Pat Wheaton, Georgia Southern University

T. Earle Johnson – Edwin Paget Distinguished Service Award

Chair: Christopher McCollough, Columbus State University

Member: Kenneth Zagacki, North Carolina State University

Member: Roseann Mandziuk, Texas State University San Marcos

Michael M. Osborn Teacher-Scholar AwarD

Chair: Brigitta Brunner, Auburn University

Member: Myria Allen, University of Arkansas

Member: Rick Cherwitz, University of Texas

Minority Recruitment and Retention Award 

Chair: Eletra Gilchrist-Petty




Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

Chair: Brad BaileyMississippi Gulf Coast Community College 

Member: Laurie Metcalf, Blinn College 

Member: Nakia Welch, San Jacinto College

J. Donald Ragsdale Award for Mentoring

Chair: Kelly MorrisonUniversity of Alabama Birmingham 

Member: Myria Allen, University of Arkansas

Member: Sean Patrick O'Rourke, Sewanee: The University of the South


SCJ Editor and Editorial Board