88th Annual Convention

April 4-8, 2018

Sheraton Downtown

Nashville, TN

89th Annual Convention

April 3-7, 2019

Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa 

Montgomery, AL

 90th Annual Convention

April 1-5, 2020

Embassy Suites

Frisco, TX

Award Guidelines


Nominations, including self-nominations, are invited for all Southern States Communication Association awards.  Nominees must be SSCA members in good standing.


For all SSCA awards , a single letter of nomination is required.  Although this may be written by the nominee, most nomination letters are written by colleagues who know the nominee and his or her qualifications well.


For all SSCA awards except the Minority Retention and Recruitment Award, the nominee's curriculum vita is required (the MRRA honors an institution, so a CV would not be appropriate).


For all SSCA awards except the Janice Hocker Rushing Early Career Research Award, a maximum of three (3) supporting letters and five (5) pages of additional supporting documentation may be submitted, but are not required. 

Submission Process


In all cases, electronic submission is preferred-to the Chair of the relevant award committee.  If electronic submission poses a hardship or for any supplementary materials that cannot be submitted electronically, the nominator must have the nomination packet or supplementary materials delivered to all members of the relevant committee by the submission deadline.

Award Policies

  1. Recipients of all ten Association Awards (named above) receive nice plaques and luncheon tickets.  These awards are presented by the chair (or other member) of the Award committee at the Association's Award luncheon. 
  2. Each recipient of a "major" award from a division that offers one (e.g., Gender Studies has the "Gender Scholar" and Communication Theory the "Outstanding Scholar") will receive a certificate with nicer cover and a luncheon ticket.  These awards may be presented by the Vice President at the Association's Award luncheon, or by the Division Chair or Vice Chair at the Division's business meeting. 
  3. Recipients of "Top Paper" and "Top Student Paper" awards given by Division and Interest Groups will receive certificates with covers, which are given at the business meeting of the Division or Interest Group.  Other awards (e.g., "Top Three Paper") will be acknowledged by Association-prepared certificates, which are also given at the Division or Interest Group business meetings. 
  4. All of the above awards are to be financed out of the Association's general revenues. 
  5. Because divisions will no longer have to pay for awards from their own budgets, divisions will be allotted $75 per year to help finance creative convention programming, to recruit a speaker to the convention who would not otherwise attend, etc.  The specifics of these expenditures, if any, must be negotiated with and approved by the Executive Director.

Award Dates


Post Call for Awards on SSCA Website: Deadline Early Fall

Post Call for Awards on SSCA Website; Submit Announcement to CRTNET; E-mail Announcement to SSCA Membership: Deadline September 15

All Nomination Materials Received by All Members of the Appropriate Committee: Deadline December 5
All Recipient Names Submitted by Award Committee Chairs to Executive Director: Deadline January 31
*The Robert Bostrom Young Scholar Award, the Franklin Shirley Award for the Top Undergraduate Honors Conference Paper and the Rose B. Johnson SCJ Article Award are determined through processes entirely separate from those described here and do not involve nominations

Approved by SSCA Executive Committee, November 18, 2005.  Revision approved April 6, 2006. Revised and approved April 12 and 13, 2012.

powered by MemberClicks