88th Annual Convention

April 4-8, 2018

Sheraton Downtown

Nashville, TN

89th Annual Convention

April 3-7, 2019

Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa 

Montgomery, AL

 90th Annual Convention

April 1-5, 2020

Embassy Suites

Frisco, TX

Divisions

Applied Communication (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Katie Anthony

University of Southern Mississippi

Kathryn.Anthony@usm.edu

 

Chair

Andrew Pyle

Clemson University

andrewspyle@gmail.com

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Darren Linvill

Clemson University

darrenl@clemson.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Carrie Reif-Stice

Columbus State University 

carrie.reif@usm.edu

 

Secretary

Catie Clark-Gordon

West Virginia University

cvc0003@mix.wvu.edu

 

Division Bylaws

ARGUMENTATION AND FORENSICS (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Adam Key

Texas A&M University

adamkey@tamu.edu

 

Chair

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

 

Vice Chair Elect

 

Secretary

 

Division Bylaws

Communication Theory (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative (2016-2017)

Michelle Violanti

University of Tennessee

violanti@utk.edu

 

Chair

T. Phillip Madison

Louisiana State University

phillip.madison@louisiana.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Michael Kotowski

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

mkotowsk@utk.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Leah LeFebvre

University of Alabama

leahlefebvre@gmail.com

 

Secretary

Sherry Ford

University of Montevallo

fords@montevallo.edu

 

Division Bylaws

Community College (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Monette Callaway

Hinds Community College

mezell@hindscc.edu

 

Chair

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Nick Rangel

HCCS

nicolas.rangel@hccs.edu

 

 

Vice Chair Elect

 

Secretary

 

Division Bylaws

Freedom of Speech (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Grant Cos

Rochester Institute of Technology

gccgpt@rit.edu

 

Chair

Pat Arneson

Duquesne University

arneson@duq.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Ann Burnette

Texas State University

ab11@txstate.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

David Dewberry

Rider University

ddewberry@rider.edu

 

Secretary

Rebekah Fox

Texas State University

rf24@txstate.edu

 

The Freedom of Speech Division supports scholarship that examines approaches to understanding freedom of speech and the First Amendment as well as issues regarding freedom of speech in contemporary society. This division provides an academic home for legal, ethical, rhetorical, historical, and other approaches to the study and application of free speech in society.

Division Bylaws / Communication Law Review

Gender Studies (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative (2015-2016)

Linda Levitt

Stephen F. Austin University

levitt.linda@gmail.com

 

Chair

Ashton Mouton

Sam Houston State University

ashton.mouton20@gmail.com 

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Beth Bradford

Florida Southern College

mbbtrigirl@gmail.com

 

Vice Chair Elect

Caroline Sawyer

University of South Carolina Beaufort

cesawyer@uscb.edu

 

Secretary

Rico Self

Louisiana State University

cordarrellself@yahoo.com

 

Division Bylaws

Instructional Development (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative

Michelle Epstein Garland

University of South Carolina Upstate

mepstein@utk.edu

 

Chair

Scott Christen

Tennessee Tech University

schristen@tntech.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Annie Beck

Coastal Carolina Community College

anniebeck@uky.edu 

 

Vice Chair Elect

Jim Bergeron

University of Tennessee

jstaple1@utk.edu

 

Secretary

Ryan Goke

Murray State 

rgoke@murraystate.edu

 

Division Bylaws

Intercultural Communication (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Hsiu-Jung “Mindy” Chang

Western New England University

mchang@wne.edu 

 

Chair

Mary M. Meares

University of Alabama

mmmeares@ua.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Jim Bergeron

University of Tennessee

jstaple1@utk.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Linda Jurczak

Valdosta State University

lpjurczak@valdosta.edu

 

Secretary

Jon Braddy

Florida Gulf Coast University

jbraddy@fgcu.edu 

 

Division Bylaws

Interpersonal Communication (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Fran Dickson

Eastern Kentuckey University

Fran.Dickson@eku.edu  

 

Chair

Gary Beck

Old Dominion University

gbeck@odu.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner 

Josh Pederson

University of Alabama

jrpederson@ua.edu 

 

Vice Chair Elect

Emily Scheinfeld

University Texas at Tyler

escheinfeld@uttyler.edu

 

Secretary

Ruth Martin

Blinn College

ruth.martin@blinn.edu

 

Division Bylaws

Language and Social Interaction (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Jelena Petrovic

Stetson University   

jpetrov1@stetson.edu 

 

Chair

Lori Stallings

University of Memphis

lstllngs@memphis.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Sean Kingsbury

Independent Scholar

rogerclynefan@gmail.com

 

Vice Chair Elect

Mark Ward Sr.

University of Houston-Victoria

wardm@uhv.edu

 

Secretary

Carolina Sawyer

University of South Carolina Beaufort

cesawyer@uscb.edu

 

The Language and Social Interaction (LSI) division brings together scholars interested in the study of language, discourse, and gesture in social context. The division is methodologically diverse, including conversation analysis, (critical) discourse analysis, ethnomethodology, ethnography of communication, rhetorical analysis of language, and quantitative studies of discourse. Members of the division research language and social interaction within a variety of communication contexts, including interpersonal, small group, organizational, health, public & political, and media.

Division Bylaws

Mass Communication (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Brian Brantley

Texas A&M University

bcbrantley16@gmail.com

 

Chair

Dean Cummings

Georgia Southern University

dcummings@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Matt Stilwell

University of South Carolina

stilwelm@email.sc.edu

 

The purpose of the Mass Communication Division is to promote the study and teaching of mass communication at all academic levels and in various academic and non-academic settings. The Division promotes scholarship in the areas of traditional and new mass media -- including television, newspapers, magazines, radio, film, Internet, social media, and other media. The Division recognizes and encourages research that addresses these topics in all contexts and levels of analysis, employing a variety of methodologies. The Division also provides a venue for presenting creative media works.

Division Bylaws  /  Division Website

Performance Studies (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Danielle Dick McGeough

University of Northern Iowa

danielle.mcgeough@uni.edu

 

Chair

Sarah K. Jackson

Southern University at New Orleans

sjackson@suno.edu 

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Ariel Gratch

Georgia College and State University

samgratch@gmail.com

 

Vice Chair Elect

Andrea Baldwin

University of Houston, Clear Lake

baldwin@uhcl.edu

 

Secretary

Collin Whitworth

Southern Illinois University

com.whitworth@gmail.com

 

Division Bylaws

Political Communication (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative

Marcus J. Coleman 

University of Southern Mississippi

marcus.coleman@usm.edu

 

Chair

Marcus J. Coleman 

University of Southern Mississippi

marcus.coleman@usm.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Ryan Neville-Shephard

University of Arkansas

rnevshep@uark.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Mike Milford

Auburn University

milford@auburn.edu

 

Secretary

Austin Allen

Texas State University

awa8@txstate.edu

 

The purpose of the Political Communication Division is to support the teaching and research of political communication. The scope of this Division is broad, as the study of politics and communication may encompass the communicative activity of citizens, individual political figures, governmental institutions, the media, political campaigns, advocacy groups and social movements. This Division recognizes and encourages research that addresses political communication topics in all contexts and levels of analysis, employing a variety of methodologies.

Division Bylaws / Division Website

Popular Communication (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Emily Ryalls

Mississippi State University

eryalls@yahoo.com  

 

Chair 

Danielle Williams

Georgia Gwinnett College

dwilliams18@ggc.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner 

Dave Nelson

Valdosta University

drnelson@valdosta.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Rich Knight

Shippensburg University

raknight@ship.edu

 

Secretary

Danielle Williams

Georgia Gwinnett College

dwilliams18@ggc.edu

 

Division Bylaws

Public Relations (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative (2015-2016)

Ashli Stokes

University of North Carolina - Charlotte

aqstokes@uncc.edu

 

Chair

Amber Smallwood

University of West Georgia

amksmall@westga.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Brigitta Brunner

Auburn University

brunnbr@auburn.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Andrew Pyle

Clemson University

andrewspyle@gmail.com

 

Secretary

Carrie Reif-Stice

Columbus State University 

carrie.reif@usm.edu

 

Division Bylaws

Rhetoric and Public Address (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Lisa Corrigan

University of Arkansas

dortise@gmail.com 

 

Chair

Kevin Marinelli

Davidson College

kemarinelli@davidson.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Stephen Heidt

Florida Atlantic University

sheidt@fau.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Samuel Perry

Baylor University

sam_perry@baylor.edu

 

Secretary

Melody Lehn

Sewanee: The University of the South 

mjlehn@sewanee.edu

 

Division Bylaws

ASSOCIATION FOR COMMUNICATION ADMINISTRATORS (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Nelle Bedner

Central Arkansas University

nelleb@uca.edu

 

Chair

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

April Chatham-Carpenter

University of Arkansas, Little Rock

axchathamca@ualr.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

 

Secretary

 

American Society for the History of Rhetoric (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Jefferson Walker

Louisiana Tech University

jeffersondgwalker@gmail.com

 

Chair

Andre E. Johnson

University of Memphis

ajohnsn6@memphis.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Wanda Fenimore

University of South Carolina, Sumter

fenimorw@uscsumter.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Cody Hawley

University of South Florida

crhawley@mail.usf.edu

 

Secretary

Damariye Smith

University of Memphis

dlsmth23@memphis.edu

 

Ethnography (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Cara Mackie

Florida Southern College

cmackie@flsouthern.edu

 

Chair

Elizabeth Stephens

Middle Tennessee State University

elizabeth.stephens@mtsu.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Pam Dykes

Florida Southern University

pdykes@flsouthern.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Andrew Herrmann

East Tennessee State University

andrew.f.herrmann@gmail.com

 

Secretary

Theresa MacNeil

Florida Southern College

tmacneil42282@gmail.com

 

 

Kenneth Burke Society (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Ryan McGeough

Northern Iowa University

ryan.mcgeough@gmail.com

 

Chair

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

 

Vice Chair Elect

 

Secretary

 

Philosophy & Ethics of Communication (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Pat Arneson

Duquesne University

arneson@duq.edu

 

Chair

James Pickett

Flagler College

jpickett1@flagler.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Andrew Tinker

Duquesne University

tinkera@duq.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

 

Secretary

 

State Association (2018-19)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

John H. Saunders

University of Alabama Huntsville

johnsaunders1125@gmail.com

 

Chair

Keith Perry

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College

kperry@abac.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Brad Bailey

MGCCC

brad.bailey@mgccc.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

John H. Saunders

University of Alabama Huntsville

johnsaunders1125@gmail.com

 

Secretary

Kurtis Miller

Tusculum University

kdmiller@tusculum.edu

 

 

 
powered by MemberClicks