87th Annual Convention

April 5-9, 2017

Hyatt Regency

Greenville, SC

88th Annual Convention

April 4-8, 2018

Sheraton Downtown

Nashville, TN

89th Annual Convention

April 3-7, 2019

Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa 

Montgomery, AL

 90th Annual Convention

April 1-5, 2020

Embassy Suites

Frisco, TX

Divisions

Applied Communication (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Patrick Dillon

University of Memphis

patrick-dillon@outlook.com


Chair

Raymond Ozley

University of Montevallo

ozleyr@montevallo.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Kathryn Anthony

University of Southern Mississippi

Kathryn.Anthony@usm.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Andrew Pyle

Clemson University

andrewspyle@gmail.com

 

Secretary

Brian Perna

University of Southern Mississippi

 

Division Bylaws

Communication Theory

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative (2016-2017)

Pavica Sheldon

University of Alabama at Huntsville

ps0027@uah.edu

 

Chair

Shaughn Keaton

Young Harris College 

sakeaton@yhc.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Chris Mapp

University of Lousiana at Monroe

mapp@ulm.edu  

 

Vice Chair Elect

Phillip Madison

 

Secretary

Sherry Ford

 

Division Bylaws

Community College (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Richard Falvo

El Paso Community College

rfalvo@epcc.edu

 

Chair

Nakia Welch

San Jacinto College

nswelch1@gmail.com

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Monette Callaway

Hinds Community College

mezell@hindscc.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Laurie Metcalf

 

Secretary

Dena Horne

 

Division Bylaws

Freedom of Speech (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Mark Grabowski

Adelphi University

profgrabowski@gmail.com

 

Chair

David Dewberry

Rider University

ddewberry@rider.edu 

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Grant Cos

Rochester Institute of Technology

gccgpt@rit.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

John Drew

Adelphi University

 

Secretary

Bradley Wilson

Midwestern State University

 

The Freedom of Speech Division supports scholarship that examines approaches to understanding freedom of speech and the First Amendment as well as issues regarding freedom of speech in contemporary society. This division provides an academic home for legal, ethical, rhetorical, historical, and other approaches to the study and application of free speech in society.

Division Bylaws / Communication Law Review

Gender Studies (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative (2015-2016)

Ashley Barrett

Baylor University

a_barrett@baylor.edu

 

Chair

Leland Spencer

Miami University

lelandspencer@gmail.com

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Linda Levitt

Stephen F. Austin University

levitt.linda@gmail.com

 

Vice Chair Elect

Ashley Mouton

Purdue University

ashton.mouton20@gmail.com 

 

Secretary

Beth Bradford

Florida Southern College

 

Division Bylaws

Instructional Development (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Stephanie Kelly

North Carolina A&T State University

sekelly@ncat.edu

 

Chair

linda pysher jurczak

Valdosta State University

lpjurczak@valdosta.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Michelle Epstein Garland

University of South Carolina Upstate

mepstein@utk.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Scott Christen

Tennessee Technological University

 

Secretary

Kevin Bryant

University of Southern Mississippi

kevin.bryant@eagles.usm.edu

 

Division Bylaws

Intercultural Communication (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative (2015-2016)

Mary Meares

University of Alabama

mmmeares@ua.edu

 

Chair

Mary Grace Antony

Schreiner University

mgantony@schreiner.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Hsiu-Jung “Mindy” Chang

Western New England University

mindy.chang@wne.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Mary M. Meares

University of Alabama

 

Secretary

Jill Bergeron

University of Tennessee

 

Division Bylaws

Interpersonal Communication (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Mary Beth Asbury

Middle Tennessee State University

MaryBeth.Asbury@mtsu.edu

 

Chair

Carrie West

Schreiner University

clwest@schreiner.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner 

Fran Dickson

Eastern Kentuckey University

Fran.Dickson@eku.edu  

 

Vice Chair Elect

Gary Beck

Old Dominion University

 

Secretary

Timothy R. Worley

Murray State University

tworley1@murraystate.edu

 

Division Bylaws

Language and Social Interaction (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Linda Di Desidero

Marine Corps University

linda.didesidero@gmail.com

 

Chair

Craig Stewart

University of Memphis

Craig.Stewart@memphis.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Jelena Petrovic

Stetson University   

jpetrov1@stetson.edu 

 

Vice Chair Elect

Lori Stallings

University of Memphis

 

Secretary

Mark Waard

University of Houston-Victoria

 

The Language and Social Interaction (LSI) division brings together scholars interested in the study of language, discourse, and gesture in social context. The division is methodologically diverse, including conversation analysis, (critical) discourse analysis, ethnomethodology, ethnography of communication, rhetorical analysis of language, and quantitative studies of discourse. Members of the division research language and social interaction within a variety of communication contexts, including interpersonal, small group, organizational, health, public & political, and media.

Division Bylaws

Mass Communication (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Gyromas Newman

University of Mobile

 

Chair

Melissa Smith

Mississippi University for Women

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Brian Brantley

Texas A&M - San Antonio

bcbrantley16@gmail.com

 

Vice Chair Elect/Secretary

Dean Cummings

Georgia Southern University

 

The purpose of the Mass Communication Division is to promote the study and teaching of mass communication at all academic levels and in various academic and non-academic settings. The Division promotes scholarship in the areas of traditional and new mass media -- including television, newspapers, magazines, radio, film, Internet, social media, and other media. The Division recognizes and encourages research that addresses these topics in all contexts and levels of analysis, employing a variety of methodologies. The Division also provides a venue for presenting creative media works.

Division Bylaws  /  Division Website

Performance Studies (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Rebecca Walker

Southern Illinois University

r.walker@siu.edu

 

Chair

Brianne Waychoff

CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College

bwaychoff@bmcc.cuny.edu 

 

Vice Chair

Danielle Dick McGeough

University of Northern Iowa

 

Vice Chair Elect

Sarah Jackson

Southern University at New Orleans

 

Secretary

Holley Vaughn

University of North Texas

 

Division Bylaws

Political Communication (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative

Lauren Reichart Smith

AuburnUniversity

 

Chair

Darrell Roe

Eastern New Mexico University

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Marcus J. Coleman 

University of Southern Mississippi

 

Vice Chair Elect

Nick Rangel

Houston Community College

 

Secretary

Jon Ezell

Tennessee Tech University

 

The purpose of the Political Communication Division is to support the teaching and research of political communication. The scope of this Division is broad, as the study of politics and communication may encompass the communicative activity of citizens, individual political figures, governmental institutions, the media, political campaigns, advocacy groups and social movements. This Division recognizes and encourages research that addresses political communication topics in all contexts and levels of analysis, employing a variety of methodologies.

Division Bylaws / Division Website

Popular Communication (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Matt Ramsey

Shippensburg University

mcramsey@ship.edu

 

Chair 

Dave Nelson

Valdosta State University

drnelson@valdosta.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner 

Emily Ryalls

Mississippi State University

eryalls@yahoo.com  

 

 

Vice Chair Elect

Garrett Castleberry

Oklahoma City University

 

Secretary

Garrett Castleberry

Oklahoma City University

 

Division Bylaws

Public Relations (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative (2015-2016)

Shirley Serini

Valdosta State University

saserini@valdosta.edu

 

Chair

Chris McCollough

Columbus State

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Ashli Stokes

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

aqstokes@uncc.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Amber Smallwood

University of West Georgia

 

Secretary

Mia Long Anderson

University of South Alambama

long.mia@gmail.com

 

Division Bylaws

Rhetoric and Public Address (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Christi Moss

University of Memphis-Lambuth 
cmoss2@memphis.edu  

 

Chair

Meredith Bagley

University of Alabama

mbagley@ua.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Lisa Corrigan

University of Arkansas

dortise@gmail.com 

  

Vice Chair Elect

Kevin Marinelli

 

Secretary

Melody Lehn

 

Division Bylaws

Southern ARGUMENTATION AND FORENSICS (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Patrick Wheaton

Georgia Southern University

pwheaton@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Chair

Kevin Bryant

University of Southern Mississippi

kevin.bryant@eagles.usm.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Adam Key

Texas A&M University

adamkey@tamu.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Keven Rudrow

University of Memphis

 

Secretary

Chris Vincent

Louisiana State University

 

Division Bylaws

 
powered by MemberClicks