The Janice Hocker Rushing Award

Janice Hocker Rushing Early Career Research Award honors SSCA members who have demonstrated exceptional scholarly ability through research and publication early in their academic careers.  Nominees must be untenured, assistant professors in the field of communication, and no more than five years shall have passed between nominee's appointment to the rank of assistant professor (or receipt of terminal degree) and the time of the award.  In addition, nominees must have participated in the program of the annual convention at least twice (or participated once in the convention program and published an article in the Southern Communication Journal). In addition to the requirements noted above, a maximum of three (3) representative publications by the nominee must be submitted.


2023 - Joshua Miller, Texas State University

2022 - Benjamin Medeiros, State University of New York - Plattsburgh

2021 - Jenny Crowley, University of Tennessee

2020 - Lindsey Aloia, University of Arkansas

2019 - Lynsay Michalik Gratch, University of Syracuse

2018 - Amanda Nell Edgar, University of Memphis

2017- Leland Spencer, Miami University

2016 - Shaughan A. Keaton

2015 - Pavica Sheldon

2014 - Rebekah Fox, Texas State University; Po-Lin Pan, Arkansas State University

2013 - Graham D. Bodie, Louisiana State UniversityE. Johanna Hartelius

2012 - Megan Foley, Mississippi State University; Brandon Inabinet, Furman University

2011 - Ambar Basu, University of South Florida

2010 - No Award Given

2009 - Dan Grano and Ashli Q. Stokes, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte

2008 - Jason Edward Black, University of Alabama; Cris Davis, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte

2007 - Elissa Foster, San Jose State University

2006 - Stacy Holman Jones, University of South Florida

2005 - Arthur Raney, Florida State University

2004 - Michael I. Arrington, Ohio University

2003 - Kevin Wright, University of Memphis

2002 - None given

2001 - None given

2000 - None given

1999 - Jim Kuypers, Dartmouth College

1998 - Jennifer Monahan, University of Georgia

1997 - Kathryn Greene, East Carolina University

1996 - Sean Patrick O'Rourke, Vanderbilt University

1995 - Cindy J. Kistenberg, University of Houston, Downtown; Roxanne L. Parrot, University of Georgia